Media Advisory

For Immediate Release: February 8, 2013
Contact: Councilmember Charlie Winburn, (513) 884-7832

Winburn & Woodruff: Cincinnati on Track Soon to Repeat Chicago’s Parking Disaster

Cincinnati, OH—Cincinnati City Councilmember Charlie Winburn, Chair of the Job Growth Committee, and Attorney Tabitha Woodruff, Advocate for the Ohio Public Interest Research Group, announced today in The Cincinnati Enquirer, Friday, February 8, 2013, that Cincinnati is on track to repeat Chicago’s parking disaster.

Winburn/Woodruff predicts that if Cincinnati City Council moves forward with the privatization of the city’s parking meters, the following three (3) things could happen in Cincinnati:

  1. Short-term fix to a long-term problem that could add millions of dollars to the already City of Cincinnati unstructurally balanced budget.

  2. Indirect tax increase though higher parking rates in all 52 city neighborhoods. Chicago expanded meter rates to $6.50 an hour. Meter hours of operation 24 hours a day and seven days a week.

  3. Lawsuits and high transaction costs that will be passed on to city wage earners and property owners. Chicago paid over $50 million in legal bills to-date as result of law suits.

Winburn is requesting that if you are opposed to the City Council privatizing parking meters, that you call the following city council members and express your opposition immediately:

Councilmember Roxanne Qualls (513) 352-3604, roxanne.qualls@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Cecil Thomas (513) 352-3499, cecil.thomas@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Laure Quinlivan (513) 352-5303, laure.quinlivan@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Wendell Young (513) 352-3466, wendell.young@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Chris Seelbach (513) 352-5210, chris.seelback@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Yvette Simpson (513) 352-5261, yvette.simpson@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember Christopher Smitherman (513) 352-3464, Christopher.smitherman@cincinnati-oh.gov
Councilmember P.G. Sittenfeld (513) 352-5270, pg.sittenfeld@cincinnati-oh.gov

You can read the Winburn/Woodruff article in The Cincinnati Enquirer titled “City Council should heed the red flags from Chicago.” You may also download a copy here.

###


 
 


Facebook  YouTube  Flickr


Welcome to Charlie Winburn's Cincinnati City Council Website | (513) 884-7832 | charlie@charliewinburn.com

Campaign office: 5844 Hamilton Avenue, College Hill, Ohio 45224 | (513) 541-7832
Paid for by Winburn for City Council | Robert Hall, Sr., Treasurer | 7811 Hamilton Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio 45231 | (513) 884-7832